Latest Posts

Maha Shivaratri – Major Lord Shiva Temples in Telangana

- Advertisement -

‘Maha Shivaratri’ or ‘Shivaratri, ‘ is a hindu festival celebrated on ‘Chadturdasi’ of Magha Masam (according to Telugu Calender). Maha Shivaratri is ppopularly know as the birthday of Lord Shiva and is worshiped in form of ‘Lingam’.

There are many legends associated with Shivaratri:

– According to one legend, Shivaratri is the wedding day of Lord Shiva and Godess Parvathi.
– Some believe that Shivaratri is the day when Lord Shiva manifested himself in the form of ‘Linga’.
– Another popular belief is that Lord Shiva drank the poison which came while churning of the ocean. Because of this, his throat turned blue and hence called as ‘Nilakanta’. This day Lord Shiva saved the world and celebrated as Shivaratri.

Traditions of Shivaratri:

Most of the devotees follow strict fast in the honor of Lord Shiva. Some devotees don’t consume even a single drop of water but some devotees may go on a diet with fruits and milk.

The belief is when you worship Lord Shiva sincerely from heart, you will be freed from all your sins. Devotees wake up early morning, take bath and wear fresh clothes, visit the nearest Shiva temple and perform ‘Abhishekam’ using milk, honey, ghee, yoghurt, sugar and water.

In Temples of Lord Shiva, they perform Kalyanam (marriage) of Lord Shiva and Parvathi in the evening and lots of devotees attend this event. At mid-night around 12 ‘O’ clock after the Kalyanam event, a special Abhishekam is performed to Lord Shiva. One can find huge number of devotees at the Kalyanam event and at the special Abhishekam.

‘Om Namah Shivaya’, the holy chanting mantra (also called as Panchakshara) on this special day gives immense energy and blessings to the devotees. This chanting mantra is part of Shri Rudram Chamakam of Yajurveda.


Some of the Famous Old Shiva Temples are list below:

  • 1000 pillar Temple, Hanamkonda, Warangal
  • Mettigutta Temple, Madikonda, Kazipet, Warangal Dt
  • Sri Mallikarjuna Swamy Devalayam, kazipet, Warangal Dt
  • Siddheshwara Temple, Hanamkonda, Warangal Dt.
  • Ramappa Temple, Palampet, Warangal Dt.
  • Mailardeva Alayam, Ayinavolu, Warangal Dt.
  • Ghanpur Group of Temples, Ghanpur, Warangal Dt.
  • Sri Swayambu Temple, Warangal Fort, Warangal Dt.
  • Sri Someshwara Laxminarasimha Swamy Temple, Palakurthy, Warangal Dt
  • Raja Rajeshwara Temple, Vemudawada, Karimnagar Dt
  • Kaleswara Muktheswara Swamy, Kaleshwaram, Karimnagar Dt
  • Shiva Balaji Mandir, Darmapuri, Karimnagar
  • Sri Mallikarjuna Swamy Devasthanam, Odela, Karimnagar Dt
  • Gautamesvara Temple, Manthini, Karimnagar Dt
  • Seelesvara and Siddesvara Temples, Manthini, Karimnagar Dt
  • Omkareswara Temple, Manthini, Karimnagar Dt
  • Goutameshwara Temple, Manthini, Karimnagar Dt
  • Chaya Someswara Swamy temple, Panagal, Nalgonda
  • Pachala Someswara temple, Panagal, Nalgonda
  • Sangameswara Alayam, Kudali, Mahabubnagar
  • Tripurantakam Umamaheshwara Temple, Mahabubnagar
  • Bekkeswara Temple, Bekkam, Mahabubnagar
  • Sangameshwara temple, Edupayala, Medak Dt
  • Koti Lingeshwara Swamy Temple, near Siddipet, Medak Dt.
  • Neelakanteshwara Temple, Nizamabad,
  • Sri Shivamallanna Swamy Temple, Esgaon, Kaghaznagar, Adilabad
  • Sri Raja Rajeshwara Swamy Temple, Kadem, Adilabad Dt.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.