Monday, October 2, 2023

Latest Posts

Warangal to be delevloped as Heritage City | Telangana Tourism

Hyderabad: The Centre would soon launch a Rs 500 crore scheme for conservation of heritage and development of 12 cities across the country, Union Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu said here on Sunday.

The 12 cities would be covered under the National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY), which is likely to be rolled out next month. The 12 cities are Amritsar, Varanasi, Gaya, Puri, Ajmer, Mathura, Dwarka, Badami, Velankanni, Kanchipuram, Warangal (Telangana) and Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh), he told reporters.

As part of this Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY) scheme, the Centre will allot sufficient funds to each identified heritage city to enhance the quality of urban life in that city apart from improving its physical, social and economic structures.

According to him, the `500 crore HRIDAY scheme would be launched by the ministry of urban development very soon.

Warangal was the capital of Kakatiya dynasty, while Amaravati, situated on the banks of river Krishna, was the capital of Satavahanas in the 2nd Century, besides being a major Buddhist centre.

“Centre would provide substantial funds for construction of houses for the poor in the towns of Khammam and Ramagundam in Telangana,” the minister added.

He further stated that a meeting was convened with municipal commissioners and district collectors to discuss as to how to improve the city and conserve rich history of these two places. “The Central government will consider suggestions from the officials during the meeting and the scheme is contemplated to be started in January.”

Source: The New Indian Express

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.